Tips to maintain a secure account

At OfferUp, we work hard to keep your account safe from threats. But we also rely on you to do your part to stay protected. Here are some tips to help you safeguard your account and to reduce the risk of identity theft on our platform.

Protect your account with a strong password

Scammers are quick to find ways to get into your online accounts by testing passwords across multiple websites. When you create or update your OfferUp account password, try using a strong, complex password or a random password generator tool. 

Don’t share account info or verification codes

Never give away sensitive account information, such as your login credentials, payment details, or one-time verification codes. Be cautious of emails, in-app messages, phone calls, or text messages asking you to provide account login credentials as these are likely phishing attempts to acquire your data. OfferUp will never proactively contact you to ask for your account credentials or payment details.

Always communicate through the app

To protect your account and your personal info, we recommend that you only communicate with buyers and sellers through OfferUp’s messaging tool. This is the safest way to chat. Avoid sharing your phone number or email to communicate outside of the app. Be cautious of users who ask you to chat off our platform as this is a common tactic scammers use to defraud people. If you choose to take a conversation off our platform, it’s done at your own risk—so please use good judgment. For more information, see Tips for messaging.

NOTE

One exception to this policy is when you message with vendors about auto sales. In the chat thread, OfferUp may prompt you to provide your contact info to get a faster response from the vendor. Other than this scenario, we strongly advise against sharing your contact details with other users.

Delete suspicious communications

If you receive suspicious emails claiming to be from OfferUp, delete them immediately. Don’t open them, and don’t click any links or attachments inside them. Common characteristics of fake emails are misspellings or grammatical errors, altered logos, and strange looking links or URLs. If you have any doubt that an email is legitimately from OfferUp, don’t risk it; delete it.

Additionally, beware of in-app messages that contain suspicious links. Don’t click on links that may take you off our platform to unsecured or malicious websites. If you believe a message is suspicious, don’t respond to it. As an added precaution, we recommend that you block and report users who send you suspicious messages.

Make sure you’re logging into a secure website

If you’re visiting us on the web at Offerup.com, double-check the address bar for 2 things before logging into your account:

  • Check the URL: Make sure you’re on https://offerup.com. Ensure that it starts with "https" for a secure connection.
  • Look for the The general secure connection symbol looks like a padlock. padlock icon: In the address bar, you should see a padlock (or a similar security indicator) before the URL. This icon signifies that the connection is secure and that your data is encrypted.

Always log out of shared devices

If you’re accessing your OfferUp account from a shared or public device (like in a computer lab), always log out when you’re finished. This prevents others from seeing your login credentials and from accessing your account. If you’re in a public place, also beware of “shoulder surfers”—people who look over your shoulder to collect your sensitive information.

Additionally, we don’t recommend that you let other people sign in to their OfferUp accounts from your personal device. This can lead to accidents if they forget to sign out. For example, you may end up adding your payment details to their account or buying something under their name.

Verify your contact information

When you verify your email and phone number, you help OfferUp protect your account. For example, if we notice a login attempt from an unrecognized device, we’ll send a text or email to your trusted device with a one-time verification code. This helps us check that it’s really you logging in and not someone who stole your login credentials. It’s important to keep your contact information up to date so we can send you verifications when there’s unusual activity on your account. To learn more, see Protecting your account with two-factor authentication.

Become a TruYou member

To help protect yourself from potential identity theft and to indicate to others that you’re a trusted user, consider becoming a TruYou member. TruYou is designed to help us verify users’ identities by authenticating their government-issued IDs and selfie photos. To learn more, see About TruYou.

Check your account regularly for unusual activity

Check your account often to make sure everything looks normal. If you notice suspicious activity, then your account may be compromised. For example, if you see items listed under your account that you didn’t post or messages that you didn’t send, then someone else may have access to your account. If you suspect that your account is at risk, contact us immediately.

If you’re not actively using your OfferUp account, consider deactivating it so there's less risk of an account takeover. You can always reactivate it at any time to pick up where you left off. For more information, see Unlink, deactivate, or delete your account.

Contact OfferUp Support for help

To report suspicious communications, phishing attempts, or if you believe your account has been compromised, please reach out to OfferUp Support right away by tapping the Contact Us button below.

Was this article helpful?