Verifying your contact info will earn you badges for your profile page, like the Confirmed email and Confirmed phone badges.
When you see that people have added contact info to their accounts, it's easier to trust that they're good members of the OfferUp community. If they don't have the contact info badges, there's no way to be certain that your messages are getting to them. In contrast, people who verify their email addresses can get notified of new messages and some notifications through email.
We encourage doing business with reliable people, and we're glad we can provide a service that helps people see indicators about how trustworthy the other person might be.
Contact info is never shared from your account, and OfferUp never posts to your social media without your permission.